There are no obvious nods to role models or any epigonism in the work of the Philip Zoubek, who lives in Cologne but hails from the small, Egon-Schiele-famous town of Tulln an der Donau in Austria. He has made a name for himself as a soloist, especially with preparations of the grand piano. The subtle sound studies developed in this way are poured into Slowfox, a trio including Sebastian Gramss (bass) and Hayden Chisholm (saxophone). With clarinetist Benjamin Weidekamp and bassist Christian Weber he dedicates himself to Jimmy Giuffres' music in a trio without drums, with a synthesizer, saxophonist Philipp Gropper, bassist Petter Eldh and drummer Moritz Baumgärtner he delves into fields as far as rock. And so on.
Philip Zoubek is a carefully thorough player who integrates spontaneity, always more inclined toward free improvisation. His consistency is admirable. He founded his acoustic piano trio with double bass player David Helm and drummer Dominik Mahnig. The fun grew ever more during rehearsals as a common sound developed.
For years, Zoubek had put his noise exegeses at the centre of his music to distance himself from academic jazz. And now the traditional format afterall, where sound manipulations inside the grand piano give way to individualisation? "That's what happened during the work, but it doesn't have to stay that way. What will remain - hopefully soon also on big festival stages - is this dazzling trio-based mixture of intensity and control, of close interlocking and soloistic furorr, of the lyrical, rough surface and romanticism.

Release

Philip Zoubek Trio »Outside«

Outside
Philip Zoubek Trio

2018 WhyPlayJazz (WPJ042)
CD + MP3 Album Download

Track listing

  1. Scanning  7:34
  2. Rhetorics  5:21
  3. Now Then  2:45
  4. Sketch  4:56
  5. Spaces in Between  5:26
  6. Der König  4:21
  7. Gambit  4:49
  8. The Clearing  4:35
  9. The Long Fade  6:02
  10. Distorted Chants  5:02

Concerts

Sie sind Veranstalter und möchten Verfügbarkeit: auf Anfrage.

Reviews

Philip Zoubek Trio‘s newest album, Outside, is a magnificent album of modern, at times avant-garde jazz. Each composition is interesting in its own right and played to near perfection by the three talented musicians on record.

Can this even be called music

Zoubek hat das Rad auf musikalische Weise neu erfunden – auch dort ist in der Bewegung alles mal oben, unten, vorn oder hinten.

Stephan A. Dudek, Allgemeine Zeitung

Ein Kollektiv im besten Sinne des Wortes, alle 3 sind wunderbarere Musiker, mit kluger und zupackender Musik.
Das beste Klaviertrio seit langer Zeit !

Henry Karl, radiohoerer

Vom früh schon aus dem Egon-Schiele-Städtchen Tulln an der Donau nach Köln gekommenen Österreicher Philip Zoubek sind leicht durchschaubare Verneigungen vor Vorbildern oder gar Epigonentum nicht zu erwarten. Als Solist hat er sich besonders mit Präparierungen des Flügels einen Namen gemacht. Die so entwickelten subtilen Klangerforschungen speist er ein ins Trio Slowfox mit Sebastian Gramss (Bass) und Hayden Chisholm (Saxofon). Mit Klarinettist Benjamin Weidekamp und Bassist Christian Weber widmet er sich im schlagzeuglosen Trio Jimmy Giuffres Musik, mit Saxofonist Philipp Gropper, Bassist Petter Eldh und Schlagzeuger Moritz Baumgärtner erschließt er am Synthesizer Felder bis hin zum Rock. Und so weiter.
Philip Zoubek ist ein durchdachter Spieler, der seine Spontaneität einbringt, immer eher der freien Improvisation zugetan. Seine Konsequenz ist bewundernswert. Mit Kontrabassist David Helm und Schlagzeuger Dominik Mahnig hat er sein akustisches Klaviertrio gegründet. Immer mehr wuchs der Spaß in den Proben, weil sich ein gemeinsamer Bandsound entwickelte.
Jahrelang hatte Zoubek seine Geräuschexegesen ins Zentrum gerückt, weil er irgendwann vom akademischen Jazz Abstand nahm. Und nun doch das traditionelle Format, bei dessen Individualisierung auf Klangverfremdungen im Inneren des Flügels verzichtet wird? „Das hat sich so ergeben während der Arbeit, muss aber nicht so bleiben.“ Was so bleiben wird – hoffentlich bald auch auf großen Festivalbühnen – ist diese schillernde Trio-Mischung aus Intensität und Kontrolle, aus enger Verzahnung und solistischem Furor, aus Lyrischem, rauer Oberfläche und Romantik.

Veröffentlichung

Philip Zoubek Trio »Outside«

Outside
Philip Zoubek Trio

2018 WhyPlayJazz (WPJ042)
CD + MP3 Album Download

Erwartet am 26. Oktober 2018

Titelverzeichnis

  1. Scanning  7:34
  2. Rhetorics  5:21
  3. Now Then  2:45
  4. Sketch  4:56
  5. Spaces in Between  5:26
  6. Der König  4:21
  7. Gambit  4:49
  8. The Clearing  4:35
  9. The Long Fade  6:02
  10. Distorted Chants  5:02

Konzerte

Sie sind Veranstalter und möchten Verfügbarkeit: auf Anfrage.